Posted by: winteridge | June 3, 2007

A-ROD DOES IT AGAIN! Although I never played baseb…


A-ROD DOES IT AGAIN!
Although I never played baseball, I would consider myself a long-time Yankees/baseball fan. As such, I am very confused by all the discussion over Alex Rodriguez’ making a comment to an opposing fielder as he ran by. “Broke the unwritten code”. Yet if he had slid into that fielder spikes-first to avoid being tagged out, thus causing a career-ending injury, that would be perfectly acceptable to all. Give me a break! I have seen runners go 10 feet out of the base path to slide into a fielder. Or run into a catcher at home plate to jar the ball loose. No problem with that? And it is perfectly acceptable for a pitcher to aim a 100 mph ball at a player’s head. Does it break the unwritten code if he doesn’t say “Sorry”? And what about all the comments and shouts from players in the dugout? Is this acceptable? What about a shout from a fan on the thirdbase side? Unacceptable? I have no love for Alex, I think he is overpaid and overpublicized, but if anyone other than A-Rod had done this, it would have been shrugged off. Just A-Rod being A-Rod (for the Boston fans). I think a fielder needs to pay attention to where he is and who is near him, and not blame an opponent for his errors.

Responses

  1. You’ve got a very good point, but I still hate A-Rod.

    And I’m not even a Sox fan!

  2. Hate that word “Hate”. I did note that Joe Morgan agreed with me on ESPN’s broadcast last nite, though they spent waaaaaaaaaay to much time discussing the incident. It would not have been a big issue if the media had not made it a big issue.

  3. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he actually bought me breakfast mainly because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading a lot more on this topic. If possible, as you turn out to be expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It’s highly useful for me. Huge thumb up for this blog post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

