Posted by: winteridge | December 30, 2007

Recognition


It was with mixed emotions that I received in the mail yesterday and opened my own “Certificate of Recognition”, personally signed by our current Secretary of Defense. Suitable for framing. I will scan it later and put it up here for viewing, for those Cold War Vets who have not yet been recognized.

It is heartwarming to be singled out and thanked by one’s country for one’s Cold War service and sacrifices in promoting peace and stability, even though it took 50 years and I did have to request the certificate. I didn’t give them 3 years in vain. I never did get my Good Conduct Medal-have to work on that now. It would have been nice, though, to have the certificate signed by GW or Rumsfeld, the deciders who decided that our Cold War was finally over and that we had won. And it takes away some of the hurt that the American Legion doesn’t allow me to join their elite group. If only they would stop sending me the membership form and then refusing me.

Now, where will I display this beauty?

Responses

  1. In the bathroom!

  2. What an honor! Thanks for serving our great country. You can take comfort in the fact that at least you served our country and Constitution, and not its leaders.

  3. As soon as I came over to this article I can only look at part of it, is this my internet cell phone browser or the internet website? Should I reboot?

  4. When I came over to this post I can only see part of it, is this my net internet browser or the internet website? Should I reboot?

  5. @jeux and @sac: Yes.

  6. Excellent article, I’ve saved this web site so hopefully I’ll see more on this subject in the future!


Leave a Reply

Categories

