Posted by: winteridge | July 20, 2008

Exploring new vistas


As a member of the “boomer” or (pre-boomer) generation, I have never considered myself a a tech person.  Technologically challenged, is how I describe myself.  In my world, there are basically 3 types of computer people: Those under 30, who know all about computers and iphones and imacs and all that; those who maybe know how to turn on a PC and send email, but maybe don’t want to; and everyone in between, which includes me.  I was required to learn the pc in my last job, and with much help from my (under-30) daughter, I have learned how to email, internet, ebay, develop photos, create websites, work with tax software, and other good stuff.  Sometimes I just wing it.

As always happens, my ol’ Dell desktop just became obsolete after 5 or 6 years.  Memory lapses, freezeups, the dread blue screen showed up almost every day.  (I love it when you get a pop-up like: “Your hard drive is about to be erased!” and your only option is a little box that says “ok”.)  Anyway, my daughter advised me to move up to Apple, but I am a senior on a limited budget and the Mac costs about 3 times the price of a Dell, plus I reasoned that buying a Apple would mean replacing all my windows programs like quickbooks and photoshop and Dreamweaver that are not compatible.  Little did I know!  Introducing Vista!

So I tuned in to the Dell website.  Dell has more deals that the local used car dealer-you just have to pick one and go.  But there oughta be a law: nobody mentions that if you order a shiny new desktop with Windows Vista, most of your programs over a year old will NOT be compatible!  Quickbooks?  Forget it.  Photoshop?  No way.  Earthlink’s email program?  Not for a few years.  Would Apple have been any worse?  I was pleasantly surprised to see that I was able to update my old MS Office software, and it works better that ever. Saved a couple hundred bucks there.  I am still running into bugs with Vista-popups with “runtime error”, IDE driver problems, and other mysteries.  Had to dispose of some favorite software that would not even load.  Had to replace some others-much as I would have done with a new Apple.  Live and learn.  And I have yet to find anything new and improved with Vista-maybe if I were a “Gamer”?

So my advice to you all is to put off replacing your pc for a couple of years until all these software writers catch up with windows, or, as with Dell, there is an option to order your new computer with the old XP operating system, I think at an added cost.  Not sure that this is progress.  Be warned: It is costly, and very frustrating, to be on the cutting edge of technology!

Responses

  1. […] WFY wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptAs a member of the “boomer” or (pre-boomer) generation, I have never considered myself a a tech person.  Technologically challenged, is how I describe myself.  In my world, there are basically 3 types of computer people: Those under 30, who know all about computers and iphones and imacs and all that; those who maybe know how to turn on a PC and send email, but maybe don’t want to; and everyone in between, which includes me.  I was required to learn the pc in my last job, and with much help from my (under-30) daughter, I have learned how to email, internet, ebay, develop photos, create websites, work with tax software, and other good stuff.  Sometimes I just wing it. As always happens, my ol’ Dell desktop just became obsolete after 5 or 6 years.  Memory lapses, freezeups, the dread blue screen showed up almost every day.  (I love it when […] […]

  2. I’m not sure how long it will take them to catch up with Vista. It’s been out for a long time now and I’m still not sure even Dell has caught up to what they’re supposed to put in there.

  3. […] dad has a blog, and he wrote a post about his recent purchase of a new Dell desktop. With Vista.  He’s had a significant number […]

  4. And of course, don’t even try to get support or even a response from most of these software suppliers, like Adobe Photoshop. Well, yes, if you purchase a support contract, maybe we will respond and tell you that there is no vista upgrade for your software. Sorry. However, we do have available for download our new version #9999 for only $199.95 that may work for you. Isn’t technology great?

  5. Hi, I’m an “old” (47 year old) online friend of Laurie’s. Honestly, go Apple — I went Apple 2 1/2 years ago, and I’ll never go back. Haven’t you heard Bill Gates is evil? I telecommute sometimes and I can actually run my Windows-based office network from my iMac. It’s a very intuitive system. I had absolutely no Apple training, just waded in, got my feet wet, and in I went. It’s sweet.

    We did Dell once. Dude, we are NOT getting another Dell.

  6. I had a Dell laptop that was made in 1997 and that was a fantastic computer. Took abuse better than either of my Mac laptops have, and I could actually repair it myself. But they went more for mass production after that.

    I’m waiting for the apocryphal version of Mac OS that runs on a PC. I am not, however, holding my breath. It’s fun to Remote Desktop in to work on my Macbook and have a little baby Windows window living on my machine.

  7. Just read an interesting article by Al Fasoldt, tech expert for the Syracuse Post Standard. Al is a Mac convert, but writes good stuff for us windows users. He reports that microsoft is investing millions in advertising to convince their present and potential customers that Vista is good for them. I like the part about falling off the edge of the earth. I guess I have to read their website and find out what is good about it. I have not seen any improvements over XP whatsoever, but a lot of incompatibilities. Instead of investing big bucks in their ads, maybe they could just ship all new PC buyers some XP software, which they could use until microsoft’s next version comes along, in a few years. Many users I know have paid to have Vista uninstalled and loaded XP to replace it. Something wrong here!

  8. Are Al’s comments on the Web site?

  9. See the link on Al’s name above.

    technofile.

  10. I asked Big Al about fixing some problems with vista, and he sez I should just put my pc in a box and mail it back to dell and they will send me a refund. Then I can buy a mac. Either he is a bit out of touch or he knows something about Dell that the rest of the world doesn’t. Anybody else have experience with that? I have fought them for 6 months just to get a rebate that I qualified for.

  11. Exploring new vistas Wandering the Tug (Tug Hill). Exploring new vistas Wandering the Tug (Tug Hill)

  12. I keep getting comments on some of my posts from indignant viewers complaining that my blog and/or my pictures are loading slowly. Wish I could help. I don’t even know if the problem is with my blog or his computer. If it is my end, only wordpress would know why. anyway, enjoy, and I hope it is worth the wait.

  13. I agree with your view… but if it was me i would change this up a a lil and make it a little more reader friendly for us morons, i got lost a little while reading it

  14. Would you be keen on exchanging links?

  15. I just added this website to my feed reader, great stuff. Cannot get enough!


Leave a Reply

Categories

