Posted by: winteridge | May 19, 2010

Sunday Bean Soup


OK, OK, after a deluge of requests from bean soup lovers, I am sharing with you Grampa Northrup’s Sunday Bean Soup recipe.  (That is him above with his farm horses.)  You can try them both and let me know what you think.

GRANDPA NORTHRUP’S SUNDAY BEAN SOUP

2 lb Great Northern Beans – clean and soak overnight.
1 bunch celery – chopped
3 medium onions – diced
1 lb smoked bacon – diced
5-6 quarts of water
3-4 medium carrots – diced
pepper and salt to taste

add all ingredients in a large pot and heat to boiling.  Simmer about 3 hours, or until carrots and celery are done.

Serves about 12.  Serve with hot biscuits or homemade bread.

Responses

  1. I have improved(?) upon this over the years by using diced ham instead of bacon. Personal choice. I recently tried using a meaty hambone and cooking the soup in a crockpot, removing the bone and trimming off the meat after a couple of hours. For me, this is perfection, but still experimenting. I mostly love the smell of the crockpot cooking all day.

  2. Don’t remember Pa putting carrots in it, I make this occasionally.

  3. maybe he didn’t. I disremember some things. I mostly add carrots for color. try it in the crockpot…Best I ever had!


Leave a Reply

Categories

