Posted by: winteridge | June 20, 2010

Tug Hill Breakfast


A gaggle of deer

Getting ready for the hunting season.

I guess I have never met a deer hunter who didn’t like a hot breakfast of sausage, biscuits, and gravy after a early morning hunt.  Toss in a side of a couple of over-easy eggs and you are set for the day.  We have tried a number of different versions at our camp over the years, but this one has become our favorite.  I am still working on a good biscuit recipe, so if you have one, let me know. Works well with toasted English muffins too.  We never have any left-overs.

Try this one on your own camp crew:

PETEY’S SAUSAGE GRAVY:

1 pound sage flavor bulk pork sausage
2 tbsp finely chopped onion
6 tbsp all purpose flour
1 quart milk
1/2 tsp poultry seasoning
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp each salt & pepper
dash of worcestershire sauce
dash of hot pepper sauce (optional)

crumble sausage (I prefer Jimmy Dean Sage) (R.I.P., Jimmy) into large saucepan; cook over medium-low heat.  Add onion; cook and stir until onion is transparent.  Drain, discarding all but 2 tbsp of drippings.  Stir in flour; cook over medium-low heat for about 6 minutes, or until mixture bubbles and turns golden.  Stir in milk.  Add seasonings;  cook, stirring, until thickened.  Slice hot biscuits in half and spoon gravy over halves.  Makes 4-6 servings.

Best U Ever Had!

Responses

  1. WOW! I could actually be the 200,000,001st Post! That would be something.

  2. Good lord that sounds delicious. Probably won’t help my cholesterol out i bet!

  3. My Doc sez so long as I don’t eat it every day it is not a problem. Besides, you work it off at camp.

  4. Well, I don�t know if that�s going to work for me, but definitely worked for you! 🙂 Excellent post!

  5. Do you people have a facebook or twitter fan webpage? I looked for for one on facebook or twitter but could not locate one, I would really like to become a fan!

  6. There is definately a great deal to learn about this issue.
    I like all the points you have made.

    • and, the breakfast was good too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

