Posted by: winteridge | June 23, 2010

Merge II


This is really just a follow-up.  Back in June of 2008 I did an editorial on how to merge in traffic.  Seems a lot of folks can’t seem to figure it out.  Either they merge long before they need to, then block late mergers, or they ARE the late mergers, blocking those behind them.  Either way, it makes for long and tedious traffic jams.

Marilyn vos Savant, the world’s smartest female, does a column in the sunday Parade Magazine http://Parade.com/marilyn, and she recently answered a question about this same problem, possibly from one of my fans.  Marilyn states that, in an ideal world, both lanes of traffic would merge like a zipper closing, possibly not even slowing traffic.  Alas, this ain’t gonna happen!  I am, however, glad that Marilyn sees the problem just as I do: she is certainly much smarter than I am. I just thought it interesting that this is going on, even after I had solved the problem.

Next, the Gulf Oil Spill.

Responses

  1. Lanes should merge at the point where it is necessary, filling both lanes that will then merge up front. The mergers should take turns, like at a 4-way stop sign. Signs should be posted along the lead-up to the merge site, and law enforcement officers should enforce the clearly stated rules, issuing tickets as necessary. After a while people would learn to be civilized.
    Well, I can dream, can’t I?

  2. I do know this isn’t precisely on subject, but i’ve a website utilizing the identical program as nicely and i am getting troubles with my comments displaying. is there a setting i’m lacking? it’s possible you could help me out? thanx.

  3. Don’t know what program you are using, Clayton, but perhaps wordpress could help you out? Sorry

  4. Thanks, I’ve been searching for info about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve found so far.


Leave a Reply

Categories

