Posted by: winteridge | August 24, 2010

Spider, Spider, Spider


Oh, yeah, did I tell you about my encounter with an over-friendly Brown Recluse Spider on my last trip to camp?  Spooky.  I don’t think their bite can be deadly, but I know they can be very painful.  I was not interested in exploring that part.

Here he is.

After a few days at our camp on the Tug, picking blackberries and wandering the woods, I packed to return home.  When I opened the driver door of my Hyundai, I was met by a large sticky spider web spun from steering wheel to seat to door post.  Hmmm, I thought, who is he trying to trap?  I could not see any spiders, however, so I removed the web and headed for home.

I had just gotten going on the Route 81 4-lane when I suddenly noticed a very large spider dangling from my sun visor like a pair of fuzzy dice and headed my way very quickly.  Stay on the road, fool!  At a quick glance, I decided it was a Brown Recluse, and I was not about to share my car with him for 75 miles, especially as he was headed right for my lap.  Thinking quickly, as usual, I found my handkerchief and attempted to capture spiderman in my left hand, hoping to dispose of him out the open window.  Nope, he quickly dropped to the floor between my legs.  Yes, Uh, oh!

I didn’t want to risk our lives (his and mine) by stopping on the expressway, but luckily I was approaching an exit, where I could stop.  Leery of something crawling up my leg, I pulled over and into a MickyDee parking lot.  After a short search, I found Brownie lurking under my floor mat, glaring at me with at least 8 evil eyes.  Not having a tool to dispatch him, I carefully captured him in my handkerchief and dropped him on the tarvia.  Before I could finish him, he scuttled under the car to safety.  I knew he could never catch me now, so I quickly got back on the road, thinking with a shudder: Did he have a mate?  At least that kept me awake for the rest of the trip.

The Brown Recluse

Responses

  1. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  2. Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?

    Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

Categories

