Posted by: winteridge | December 6, 2010

That’s A Lotta Baloney


Many of you are familiar with Croghan Bologna, which is a summer-sausage type delicacy I can best describe as similar to the world famous Lebanon bologna but a bit coarser and tastier.  It has been made for many years in the small Adirondack foothills town of Croghan, NY, which you might call a suburb of Lowville.  I grew up on Croghan Bologna, and it hasn’t changed much in the past 60 years, though the makers have changed and evolved.  It used to be our favorite deer-hunting lunches when I was a boy and hunting with my Dad and brothers: a chunk of “Crog” and one of Mom’s buttered biscuits and maybe a candy bar for dessert.

We still enjoy Crog when we can, but now there is something even better.  Our hunting group was lucky enough to harvest a few deer last fall, and we trimmed out a hundred pounds or so of the stew meat and such and had it made into bologna.  Now I have had venison summer sausage, breakfast sausage, and such, but was never really crazy about any of them.  Ed’s Meat Market, in Indian River, which is a suburb of Croghan, came up with their own bologna recipe, which in my opinion is even better than the original.  Maybe it is the venison (considered health food by some); maybe because it was ground finer with less filler; maybe the secret ingredients – whatever, it is more like the Croghan Bologna I remember as a boy, and a real treat.  Next year, if I harvest a deer, I think I will grind everything but the loins and antlers!

And that’s Just My Opinion.

Responses

  1. I have a hunter friend who gives me Croghan Bologna from time to time. It is very tasty, but I think it is a little too lean. I don’t think you would want to add venison fat (it coats the inside of your mouth and stays there for days!) but maybe a little lard would help it. I don’t know whether that dininishes its value as health food, but I eat for taste, not health anyway. Of course a lot of “health food” is delicious. It reminds me of the old advice:
    Don’t marry for money, dear, but love where money is!

  2. we always used to remove the venison fat when making venison hamburger and replaced it with pork fat. same idea here. I never liked the sticks-to-your-ribs feel of venison tallow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

