Posted by: winteridge | January 16, 2011

Tourtiere


Along with everything else, I have been searching over the years for the ideal, yea perfect, recipe for French Meat Pie.  I think I may have found it.

The tourtiere, as you may know, is a traditional French Canadian dish, usually featured around Christmas.  Many French Canadian families migrated to the Adirondacks to join in the logging boom, and the meat pie came with them.

Like the beef stew, everyone has his or her variation of the meat pie, adjusting another recipe to taste, or sometimes just tossing in whatever ingredients they have on hand.  (I have made some priceless stews that way.)  Anyway, there are dozens of meat pie recipes in cookbooks and on the internet, and I have tried a few of them.  I even read one comment that a TRUE Tourtiere is made with no spices whatever.  I say…whatever.  It is all in your personal taste.  I tried this one and liked it, but I will keep tweaking it every time I make it.  Give it a try.  I don’t make piecrusts-Mother Pillsbury does it better, but if you make your own, fine.  I don’t have a photo-maybe next time-but it was beautiful.

Tourtiere – French Meat Pie

from: (chowhound.chow.com)

Make or buy dough for double crust pie, chill, wrapped, for 1 hour.

Filling:

1 medium onion, chopped

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

1 lb ground pork

1 stalk celery, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

¾ cup chicken stock, low sodium

¼ tsp pepper

½ tsp thyme

¼ tsp ground allspice

1 bay leaf

2 tbsp bread crumbs (fresh or dry)

In a saucepan cook onion & celery in butter over medium heat, stirring frequently, for 4 minutes.  Add garlic and cook for another 2 minutes.  Add the pork and cook, stirring, until pork changes color.  Add the chicken broth, spices, and simmer the mix, covered, for 30 minutes.  Stir in bread crumbs and let it cool some.

Prepare pie crust in 7 inch pie plate and pour in mixture.  Cover with top crust, seal edges, and trim excess crust.  Make a ½ inch X in center.  Bake in lower third of preheated oven for 10 minutes at 425 F.  Reduce heat to 375 F. and transfer pie to middle of the oven and bake for another 25 minutes, or until crust is golden.  Serve hot or cold.

Note: original recipe called for ½ tsp salt and no pepper, but we found it to be salty.  I am removing the salt and adding ¼ tsp pepper.  Feel free to experiment.

Responses

  1. Just a note of apology to you if you have left me a legitimate comment and I deleted you. Every time I go on I have 200+ spams, and I take wordpress’ word that they really are spams and I delete. Hope I didn’t remove yours.


Leave a Reply

Categories

